Touch ‘Em All, Eitan – That’s a Pretty Big Home Run

Over the past few days since the idea for this site popped into my head I have been thinking of what to feature as my inaugural post. The plan for this site is to discuss, analyze, celebrate and enjoy Israeli sports and with so much going on right now it was a tough choice. But then something happened that just sealed the deal, in more ways than one. 

It was a cool evening in Vienna, as Israel’s Men’s National Baseball team strode off the field in the middle of the 9th inning behind by two runs. It was 6-4 and this was their last chance at winning game two of the tournament, and starting a little winning streak. Yesterday’s contest was too easy it seems, but the Polish team was putting up much more of a fight than the Belarusians. 

After watching nearly all of Monday’s 13-1 victory, I unfortunately was stuck in traffic as Israel stepped to the plate in the hopes of producing a comeback victory. Thankfully, I’m not the only Israel baseball fan around and I had a good play-by-play man to keep me updated.

Down by 2, bottom of the 9th, and a starting pitcher comes up to bat… and hits a single to left.

I inch up a few more car lengths as the tension builds.

Still 6-4 for Poland, bottom of the 9th, Israel has the bases loaded with 1 out.

More red brake lights in front of me.

HOLY F***!!! Grand Slam!!! Israel win 8-6!!!!

That’s how I got the news, and I doubt you would have liked to hear it from me any differently.

Now, I’m not sure how many of you have ever played baseball or been a fan to the point where you imagine being the hero that Eitan Maoz was in tonight’s game, but I have. I’ve lived through and witnessed Major League Baseball walk-off victories during the World Series, and trust me, that’s what every young fan dreams of doing. To win a game that your team might not have deserved to win by belting a grand slam is almost too sweet. Hey if it had happened in the tournament’s final game I might not have believed it was reality.

But this folks is what sports are all about – and for the first time in a long time, it’s being accomplished by an Israeli national team. It doesn’t get much cooler than that.

Israel's Men's National Baseball team in Vienna, Austria
Israel’s Men’s National Baseball team in Vienna, Austria

Six Sided Sports will be an ongoing source for sports news and information coming out of the holy land – six sided for the Star of David in case you didn’t pick up on that. With the amount of incredible athletes being groomed here and how Israel is making a name for itself on the national stage over many varied sports, it’s time the Hebrews get their due.

And if the coming days, weeks and months provide such tremendous moments as today, well, my job will be a whole lot easier.

Follow me on twitter @adavis_29

Leave a Reply

